Restoring a Backup or Moving your Installation to Another Computer

Restoring a backup to the same system
  • Close all running instances of KoalaBrain
  • Rename the existing KoalaBrain folder in your home directory if it's there, in case the backup is not appropriate and you want to go back to the pre-restore state
  • Unzip the backup, and replace the KoalaBrain folder in your home directory with the unzipped KoalaBrain folder
  • Do not run restored copies of KoalaBrain data on different machines concurrently. ¬†KoalaBrain databases have unique identifiers to allow for network functionality, which may conflict if this is done.¬†
Restoring a backup or importing records from another KoalaBrain system
  • IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED TO COPY THE DATABASE FILES BETWEEN INSTALLATIONS AND TO ALWAYS RESTORE A COMPLETE BACKUP RATHER THAN COPYING INDIVIDUAL FILES FROM WITHIN THE KOALABRAIN DIRECTORY IN YOUR HOME FOLDER.
  • If you are using a database from another system, or records which are imported through a 3rd party sqlite tool, terminals and users may not be recognised. ¬†
  • This means that they will display their UUID in easy reports where the user or terminal name would usually appear.
  • There may be further repercussions for future releases, so generally it is advised to always restore your entire KoalaBrain folder rather than individual database files so that integrity is retained.
Moving your KoalaBrain installation to another user account or computer
  • Copy the entire KoalaBrain directory from the current user home directory to the destination user's home directory, replacing the KoalaBrain directory on the destination if it already exists
  • Delete the logs directory in the KoalaBrain directory or you may encounter issues with file paths that no longer exist in the target environment
  • Change/update any backup directories or paths set in the Configurations screen within KoalaBrain or you may encounter issues with file paths that no longer exist in the target environment